KOSTENLOSE

Lieferung für Bestellungen über 60€

Mehr Info

Sale

Hyperopie (Weitsichtigkeit)

Was ist Hyperopie?

Hyperopie, auch bekannt als Hypermetropie oder Weitsichtigkeit, ist ein Augenleiden, das vor allem Erwachsene über 40 betrifft, aber Menschen jeden Alters, auch Kinder, betreffen kann. Hyperopie bedeutet, dass der Patient Schwierigkeiten hat, Objekte in der Nähe zu fokussieren, aber möglicherweise besser in der Lage ist, Objekte in der Ferne zu sehen. Manche Patienten sind jedoch nicht in der Lage, Objekte in jeder Entfernung zu fokussieren.

gettext.alts.hyperopia_is

Dies ist ein Querschnitt durch ein Auge. Das linke Bild zeigt ein Auge mit unbehandelter Weitsichtigkeit und das rechte Bild zeigt, wie Korrekturgläser funktionieren, um Weitsichtigkeit zu korrigieren.

In der linken Abbildung sehen Sie, dass die Linien, die die Lichtstrahlen darstellen, hinter dem Augenhintergrund fokussiert werden und daher nicht direkt auf das lichtempfindliche Gewebe, die Netzhaut, treffen. Dies führt zu unscharfem Sehen und bedeutet, dass der Patient Objekte in der Nähe nicht fokussieren kann, was oft zu Kopfschmerzen, Unbehagen und Überanstrengung der Augen führt. Im richtigen Bild fokussiert das Korrektionsglas das Licht auf den richtigen Bereich des Auges und hilft dem Patienten, klar zu sehen.

Was verursacht Hyperopie?

Hyperopie tritt auf, wenn das Auge nicht in der Lage ist, das Licht richtig auf das lichtempfindliche Gewebe im hinteren Teil des Auges, die Netzhaut, zu fokussieren. Anstatt das Licht direkt auf die Netzhaut zu fokussieren, wird es leicht dahinter gebündelt, was zu unscharfem Sehen führt.

Das kann daran liegen, dass der Augapfel zu kurz ist und daher nicht genügend Abstand hat, um das Licht korrekt zu fokussieren. Es kann auch daran liegen, dass die Hornhaut, die transparente Schicht an der Vorderseite des Auges, zu flach ist, um das Licht richtig zu bündeln. Sie kann auch dadurch verursacht werden, dass die Linse im Auge nicht in der Lage ist, das Licht an der richtigen Stelle zu fokussieren, weil sie entweder die falsche Form hat oder nicht flexibel genug ist, um sich anzupassen.

Hyperopie ist in der Regel kein Anzeichen für eine andere Grunderkrankung und kommt recht häufig vor. Sie kann durch die von Ihren Eltern vererbten Gene oder durch das Alter verursacht werden, wenn die Linsen in Ihren Augen steifer werden und weniger fokussieren können.

gettext.alts.hyperopia_how_to

Woher weiß man, ob man Weitsichtigkeit hat?

Die einzige Möglichkeit, um festzustellen, ob Sie unter Hyperopie leiden, ist ein Sehtest bei Ihrem Optiker, der Ihnen dann gegebenenfalls ein Brillenrezept ausstellt. Häufige Symptome der Hyperopie sind verschwommenes Sehen, Kopfschmerzen und Überanstrengung der Augen. Bei Hyperopie in beiden Augen kann die Tiefenwahrnehmung gestört sein. Einige Patienten mit Hyperopie können Objekte in der Ferne sehen, während andere nicht in der Lage sind, in jeder Entfernung klar zu sehen.

Wenn Sie Schwierigkeiten mit Ihrem Sehvermögen oder eines dieser Symptome feststellen, sollten Sie einen Sehtest machen lassen, um zu prüfen, ob Sie eine Behandlung benötigen. Kinder haben vielleicht keine offensichtlichen Probleme, wenn sie weitsichtig sind, aber wenn es unbehandelt bleibt, können sich andere Probleme wie Schielen oder ein träges Auge entwickeln.

Behandlung von Hyperopie

Die gängigste Behandlung für Weitsichtigkeit sind Brillen oder Kontaktlinsen, obwohl Kunstlinsenimplantate und Laserchirurgie immer beliebter werden. Tatsächlich unterziehen sich in Großbritannien jedes Jahr etwa 100.000 Menschen mit verschiedenen Augenkrankheiten einer Laseroperation.

Brillen:

Nachdem Sie Ihren Sehtest bei einem Optiker gemacht haben, sollte dieser Ihnen eine Kopie Ihres Rezepts mitgeben, das, sofern nicht anders angegeben und getestet, nur für Brillengläser gilt. Mit dieser Kopie können Sie dann online eine Brille bestellen, denn sie enthält Ihre individuellen Angaben, um sicherzustellen, dass die Gläser genau auf Ihre Bedürfnisse zugeschnitten sind.

Die Dicke und das Gewicht Ihrer Brillengläser hängen von der Stärke Ihrer Sehstärke ab, die angibt, ob Sie eine leichte oder starke Weitsichtigkeit haben. Dies kann durch den Kauf von dünneren Gläsern, sogenannten Hochindexgläsern, reduziert werden. Dadurch passen die Gläser besser in die Fassung und das Gewicht auf Ihrer Nase wird verringert.

Help with the cost of glasses may be available through NHS vouchers if you are eligible, for more information see the NHS website.

Glasses start from ₴250

Jetzt Ansehen

Kontaktlinsen:

Wenn Sie Kontaktlinsen ausprobieren möchten, müssen Sie dafür einen separaten Beratungstermin bei Ihrem Optiker vereinbaren, für den auch ein gültiger Sehtest erforderlich ist. Nach der Beratung sollten Sie ein Rezept für Kontaktlinsen erhalten, einschließlich eines empfohlenen Linsentyps oder einer Marke, das Sie bei jedem Händler, auch online, verwenden können.

Manche Menschen bevorzugen Kontaktlinsen, da sie leichter und fast unsichtbar sind, während andere sie schwieriger zu handhaben finden als eine Brille. Kontaktlinsen können eine großartige Option sein, erfordern aber mehr Pflege und Aufmerksamkeit für die Linsenhygiene.

Help with the cost of contact lenses may be available through NHS vouchers if you are eligible, for more information see the NHS website. Contact lenses start from ₴226.02 per month for monthly lenses or ₴707.53 for a month’s supply of daily disposable lenses.

Künstliche Linsenimplantate:

Grauer Star (Katarakt) kommt bei älteren Menschen häufig vor und bedeutet, dass der Patient nicht mit dem Laser operiert werden kann. In diesem Fall besteht eine Alternative darin, dass dem Auge eine Kunstlinse implantiert und die ursprüngliche Linse entfernt wird. Das bedeutet, dass eine multifokale Linse die natürliche Linse im Auge ersetzt. Dies kann eine geeignete Alternative für Menschen mit Grauem Star sein, die für eine Laseroperation nicht in Frage kommen.

Laserchirurgie:

Eine neuere Methode zur Behandlung von Erkrankungen wie der Hyperopie ist die Laserchirurgie. Dabei werden mit Hilfe von Lasern kleine Teile der Hornhaut weggebrannt und ihre Krümmung neu geformt. Dadurch wird das Licht besser auf die Netzhaut im hinteren Teil des Auges fokussiert. Die am häufigsten angewandte Methode bei Weitsichtigkeit ist die Laser-in-situ-Keratektomie (LASIK), die nur durchgeführt werden kann, wenn die Hornhaut dick genug ist, die Hornhautkrümmung nicht zu steil ist und die Oberfläche Ihres Auges gesund ist. Bei der LASIK schneidet der Chirurg die Hornhaut durch, hebt einen Gewebelappen an und formt die Hornhaut neu, bevor er das Gewebe ersetzt. Dies ist die beliebteste Methode in Großbritannien. Sie kann sowohl bei Hyperopie als auch bei Myopie (Kurzsichtigkeit) angewendet werden und wird seit Mitte der 1990er Jahre eingesetzt.

Der Eingriff wird unter örtlicher Betäubung in etwa 30 Minuten durchgeführt, und oft können Sie schon am nächsten Tag wieder normal sehen. Die Ergebnisse sind in der Regel gut und 9 von 10 Patienten berichten von einer deutlichen Verbesserung ihrer Sehkraft, obwohl es nicht immer möglich ist, Ihre Weitsichtigkeit vollständig zu heilen. Es ist auch wichtig zu wissen, dass die Laserchirurgie Ihre Sehkraft möglicherweise nicht so gut korrigieren kann wie Korrekturgläser, und dass Sie für einige Aktivitäten eine Brille oder Kontaktlinsen benötigen.

,

Risiken und Komplikationen bei Behandlungen

Kontaktlinsen sind sehr risikoarm, aber es ist wichtig, dass Sie ein hohes Maß an Linsen- und Körperhygiene einhalten, wiederverwendbare Linsen gründlich desinfizieren und wegen des Infektionsrisikos nicht mit ihnen schlafen. Kontaktlinsen erhöhen auch das Risiko einer Augeninfektion, da Ihr Auge leichter mit Bakterien in Berührung kommt. Es ist wichtig, sich dessen bewusst zu sein und sich regelmäßig von Ihrem Optiker untersuchen zu lassen.

Die Laserchirurgie birgt einige Risiken und Nebenwirkungen. Zu den häufigsten Nebenwirkungen gehören trockene Augen oder eine Trübung bei hellem Licht. Die meisten dieser Nebenwirkungen sind leicht zu behandeln und verschwinden innerhalb weniger Monate nach dem Eingriff. Es besteht ein geringes Risiko, dass die Hornhaut vernarbt oder infiziert wird, was Ihre Sehkraft gefährden kann. Diese Probleme sind jedoch selten und können bei Bedarf mit einer Hornhauttransplantation behandelt werden.

Hyperopie FAQ

ENDS SOON - 10% OFF frames $89+   Code: AUTUMN

Autumn Offer - ENDS SOON!

10% OFF frames & sunglasses over $89

Use code 'AUTUMN' at basket.



 

TERMS: 10% OFF Frames over $89

1). Valid on frames & sunglasses over $89 only.

2). Does not include lenses.

3). Not valid on 2 for 1 collection.


Hyperopia (long-sightedness)


What is Hyperopia?

Hyperopia otherwise known as Hypermetropia or long-sightedness is an eye condition which primarily affects adults over 40 but can affect people of all ages, including children. Hyperopia means that the patient struggles to focus on close up objects but may be better able to see objects in the distance; however some patients are unable to focus on objects at any distance.



This is a cross section of an eye, the left image shows an eye with hyperopia which is untreated, and the right image shows how prescription lenses work to correct long-sightedness.


In the left image you can see the lines representing rays of light are focused behind the back of the eye, and therefore not directly on the light-sensitive tissue known as the retina. This causes blurred vision and means the patient cannot focus on objects close up, often leading to headaches, discomfort and eye strain. In the right image the prescription lens works by focusing this light on the correct area of the eye helping the patient see clearly.


What causes Hyperopia?

Hyperopia occurs when the eye is unable to focus the light correctly on the light-sensitive tissue at the back of the eye known as the retina. Instead of focusing the light directly on to the retina it focuses slightly behind it, causing blurred vision.


This may be because the eyeball is too short and so does not allow enough distance for the light to focus correctly. It can also be caused by the cornea, which is the transparent layer at the front of the eye, being too flat to direct the light correctly. It may also be caused by the lens in the eye being unable to focus the light in the correct place due to either being the wrong shape or not flexible enough to adjust.


Hyperopia is not usually a sign of any other underlying condition and is quite common. It may be caused by genes inherited from your parents or as a result of age as the lenses in your eyes become stiffer and less able to focus.



How to know if you have Hyperopia?

The only way to confirm if you have hyperopia is by having an eye test with your optician, who will then provide you with a glasses prescription if necessary. Common symptoms of hyperopia include blurry vision, headaches and eye strain, and in cases of hyperopia in both eyes you may struggle with depth perception. Some patients with hyperopia may be able to see distance objects, while others are unable to see clearly at any distance.


If you experience any difficulties with your vision or any of these symptoms it is best to get an eye test to check if you need treatment. Children may not have obvious issues when they are long-sighted but if it is left untreated may develop other problems such as a squint or lazy eye.


Treatment for Hyperopia

The most common treatment for hyperopia is prescription glasses or contact lenses although artificial lens implants and laser surgery are becoming increasingly popular. In fact, a total of around 100,000 people, with various eye conditions, in the UK undergo laser surgery each year.


Glasses:

Once you have had your eye test with an optician they should give you a copy of your prescription to take away which, unless otherwise specified and tested, will be for glasses only. This can then be used to order glasses online as it gives you your unique specifications to ensure the lenses are made exactly to your needs.


The thickness and weight of your lenses will vary based on the strength of your prescription which indicates whether you have mild or severe hyperopia. This can be reduced by purchasing thinner lenses, otherwise known as high index lenses, which allows your lenses to fit more easily into the frame and reducing the weight on your nose.


Help with the cost of glasses may be available through NHS vouchers if you are eligible, for more information see the NHS website.


Glasses start from $10   Shop Now

Contact lenses:

If you would like to try contact lenses you will need to book a consultation for this with your optician separately, which also requires a valid eye test. Once you have had your consultation you should be provided with your prescription for contact lenses only, including a recommended lens type or brand, which can be used at any retailer including online.


Some people prefer contact lenses as they are more lightweight and are almost invisible, while others find them more difficult to use than glasses. Contact lenses can be a great option but require more care and attention to lens hygiene.


Help with the cost of contact lenses may be available through NHS vouchers if you are eligible, for more information see the NHS website. Contact lenses start from $9.24 per month for monthly lenses or $28.93 for a month’s supply of daily disposable lenses.

Artificial lens implants:

Cataracts are common in older people and mean the patient cannot have laser surgery; in this case an alternative is to have artificial lenses implanted in the eye and the original lens removed. This means a multifocal lens replaces the natural lens in the eye which can be a suitable alternative for those with cataracts who would not be suitable for laser surgery.

Laser surgery:

A newer method of treating conditions like hyperopia is laser surgery which is when lasers are used to burn away small parts of the cornea and reshape its curvature. This means the light is focused better on the retina at the back of the eye. The most commonly used method for hyperopia is laser in situ keratectomy (LASIK) which can only be carried out if the cornea is thick enough, curvature of the cornea is not too steep, and the surface of your eye is healthy. LASIK is when the surgeon cuts across the cornea, raises a flap of tissue and reshapes the cornea before replacing the tissue. This is the most popular method in the UK and can be used for both hyperopia and myopia (short-sightedness) and has been used since the mid 1990s.


The procedure is carried out under local anaesthetic in around 30 minutes, and often you can be back to normal the following day. The results are usually good and 9 out of 10 people report a significant improvement in their vision, although it may not be possible to completely cure your hyperopia. It is also important to note that laser surgery may not be able to correct your vision as well as corrective lenses, and glasses or contact lenses may be required for some activities.


Laser surgery is not typically available on the NHS unless the patient is at risk of losing their vision without this treatment. As hyperopia can be treated with other methods available through the NHS laser surgery is unlikely to be covered, and can cost approximately £800 - £2,500 per eye.



Risks and complications of treatments

Contact lenses are very low risk, but it is important to maintain a high level of lens and personal hygiene, disinfect reusable lenses thoroughly and avoid sleeping with them in due to the risk of infection. Contact lenses also increase your risk of eye infection as it is easier for your eye to come into contact with bacteria, it is important to be aware of this and to have regular check-ups with your optician.


Laser surgery does have some risks and side effects, more common side effects include dry eyes or a haze around bright lights. Most of these are easily treatable and pass within a few months after the procedure. There is a small risk of the cornea becoming scarred or infected, which may threaten your vision, but these problems are rare and can be treated with corneal transplantation when necessary.




Hyperopia FAQ

  • What is the difference between long and short sightedness?

    Short-sightedness or myopia is when the patient is able to focus on objects which are close up but cannot see objects in the distance.


    Long-sightedness or hyperopia is when the patient is unable to focus on close up objects and may or may not be able to see objects in the distance. This is due to structural differences within the eye and may be affected by the curvature and development of the cornea.

  • Does hyperopia get worse with age?

    Short-sightedness or myopia is when the patient is able to focus on objects which are close up but cannot see objects in the distance. Long-sightedness or hyperopia is when the patient is unable to focus on close up objects and may or may not be able to see objects in the distance. This is due to structural differences within the eye and may be affected by the curvature and development of the cornea.

  • What do glasses prescriptions with hyperopia look like?

    If your optician finds you have hyperopia your prescription will show positive Sphere values in either one or both eyes. For example:

    Right SPH +2.50
    Left SPH +1.50